Select Page
What are the different types of fire extinguishers?

There are 6 types of Fire Extinguishers.

  • Dry Chemical Powder
  • Carbon Dioxide
  • Water
  • Foam
  • Wet Chemical
  • Vaporising Liquide
What is the Australian standard for fire extinguishers?

The Australian standards for Fire Extinguishers are:

  • AS 1841 (Design and performance)
  • AS 1851 (Maintenance)
  • AS 2444 (Installation)
Can I service my own fire extinguisher?

No, Under the Australian Standards you must be a competent person trained and skilled (Some states require Licencing EG QLD).

BUT a domestic fire extinguisher should be looked at to see if the extinguisher is still registering full and in the Green.  

What are the different classes of fires?

There are 6 classes of fires.

  • Class A – Ordinary combustibles
  • Class B – Flammable liquids
  • Class C – Flammable gases
  • Class D – Combustible metals
  • Class E – Electrical equipment
  • Class F – Cooking oils and fats
What are the different colours of fire extinguishers?

Most extinguishers these days are completely RED in colour with the bands on the extinguisher are different colours

  • White – Dry Chemical Powder
  • Black -Carbon Dioxide
  • Red – Water (No Band)
  • Blue – Foam
  • Oatmeal – Wet Chem
  • Yellow – Vaporising Liquide
What is the best fire extinguisher for home use?

Dry Chemical powder and a fire blanket 1.8 x 1.2, 1 or 2Kg with hose.